The Little Foxes

May 3- May 26

Written by Lillian Hellman

Directed by Melissa Utley


“…Hellman’s 1939 drama is… enduring entertainment, a theatrically effective indictment of human greed and its destructive power.” –Charles Isherwood, Broadway News

In pursuit of the American Dream, this riveting story captures the life of a Southern family who has decided to partner together to pursue the biggest business deal that will make-or-break their lives. But as the financial dream gets bigger and tensions rise, where do the pieces for this family’s future fall?



Opening Night – May 3rd, 2019. Please join us for a complimentary opening night champagne reception after the show!

Special Student Performances — May 9th, 2019 at 7 pm. School groups can register for this program HERE.



"This play is one of the reasons we wanted to start the Classic Theater in the first place,” said actor/director Anthony Ciaravino, one of the co-founders of the now established thespian company located in the Deco District. “It is so timely; this play could be written today, that’s how relevant it is. It’s about the dangers of capitalism that destroys families and runs over people, especially poor people.” -Jasmine Wellinghoff, Arts Alive San Antonio

- Read More

"Though it was written more than 80 years ago, playwright Lillian Hellman’s The Little Foxes still resonates with its themes of classism, racism and the damaging effects of unbridled greed, all of which are sadly still with us today. It also points an accusing finger at the way women are treated by society — and how they’re expected to behave." -Kurt Gardner, ArtSceneSA

- Read More

"Kelly Hilliard’s portrayal of the iconic role is a tour de force; it is everything Vivien Leigh’s Scarlett O’Hara should have been and wasn’t. Her command of the stage never falters, and her physicality conveys more with a raised eyebrow than a raised voice." -Donna Provencher, The Kerrville Daily Times

- Read More

Photography by Siggi Ragnar


Byrd Bonner

Anthony Ciaravino (AEA)

Christi Eanes

Alyx Gonzales

John O'Neill

Kelly Hilliard (AEA)

Guy Schaafs

Charlene Watts

Torence White

Hunter Wulff

Thank You To Our Sponsors!